Paul Harris Awards

The Paul Harris Fellow recognition acknowledges individuals who contribute, or who have contributions made in their name, of $1,000 to The Rotary Foundation.

Rotary established the recognition in 1957 to encourage and show appreciation for substantial contributions to what was then the Foundation’s only program, Rotary Foundation Fellowships for Advanced Study, the precursor to Ambassadorial Scholarships.

The first Paul Harris Fellows included past RI Director Allison G. Brush, who served during the 1937-38 Rotary year, and longtime RI Treasurer Rufus F. Chapin, both for donations made in 1946. Mrs. Adan Vargas was the first woman to receive the recognition, for a gift made in 1953. Mrs. Harry L. Jones was the second, and one of only five people recognized for contributions actually made in that inaugural year.

The number of Paul Harris Fellows reached the 1 million mark in 2006 including the following from the Rotary Club of Richmond Hill.

Abdulla, Mohamed
Azam, Nasir
Chandra, Kan
Cherniak, Jason Robert
Darwin, Rodney
Giri, Dr.C. P.
Hagborg, Donita
Harricharran, Veda
Housen, Richard
Jones, Graham A.
Joshi, Hira
Knight, Stephen
Glen Waugh
Kouadiane, Wilfried Terence
Lathem, Mark K.
Li, Lisa
Nejat, Eric Z.
Obadia, David
Paul, Noeline
Sriskandarajah, Rajasri
Szoke, Peter
Tate, J. David
Thomas, Paul
Vandyke, Gordon Arthur
Vyrostko, Paul